SPW address, URL, Motto, Quill and Ink image

Thanks for visiting our website. We are a nonprofit literary organization based in Springfield, Illinois, home of our 16th U.S. president Abraham Lincoln. We are proud to have served central Illinois since 1993, inspiring and supporting the literary arts. Since 1999, our annual teen poetry anthology, Navigating the Maze, has reached teens, their families and friends, and others around the world.

In Spring 2021, Springfield Poets and Writers will participate in The NEA Big Read Sangamon County with other area arts, education and public groups. For more information, visit The Big Read Sangamon County page. Read about our March 17 online event on our Big Read 2021 Poets & Painters Event page. View or download a PDF (32 pages) of the program book for the event from that page, and view the video recording of the event.

Poetry in CyberSpace: SPW Open Mic

During the age of Coronavirus, the Springfield Poets and Writers monthly open mic continues, on the third Wednesday of every month, via Zoom Cloud Meeting. Link information for the April 21, 2021 "Poetry in Cyberspace: SPW Open Mic" is posted below. This session -- another event related to the Big Read 2021 -- is dedicated to writings inspired by nature or Earth Day (April 22).

Time: Apr 21, 2021 06:00 PM Central Time (US and Canada)

Join Zoom Meeting

(click this link, or copy the entire line into your browser address window)


or just paste this TinyURL into your browser: https://tinyurl.com/h7s9j9b6

If you have the Zoom app on your device, you can just enter these numbers:

Meeting ID: 832 8711 1325

Passcode: 972389

One tap mobile (from your phone, for an audio connection)

+13126266799,,83287111325#,,,,*972389# US (Chicago)

Find your local number: https://us02web.zoom.us/u/kcMyHWT5Ra

Past President
Hugh Moore

The 25th anniversary
t-shirt graphic designed by SamBDavis. T-shirts will be available soon from Zazzle.com.